Association Internationale du Film d’Animation
International Animated Film Association

Israel

Description

ASIFA Israel was established 1985 with 30 members. It is recognized as a registered non-profit cultural organization since January 1991.At its peak it had over 100 members. In 2000 members organized ASIF – an annual event summing up a year of animation in Israel. ASIF 2018 included screening of 127 films and 5 computer games. These were selected from 249 films and games submitted to 2 committees of professionals. In recent years ASIF is organized by Animix annual festival of animation, comics and caricature.
Animix website:   http://www.animixfest.co.il/ 


In 2013 we’ve established the Animation Club in cooperation with Minshar for Art, TLV. It holds 6-7 meetings a year. Talks by prominent animation artists, screenings and discussions. We also organize an IAD event annually and assist other organizers of IAD events all over Israel.

In addition, Asifa Israel supports institutes and associations in their activities which contribute to the development of animation art. The most prominent of these is the Animation Professions Union, established 2011. It has over 300 members (2018), from students to studio owners. In addition to the usual services a union gives its members, it acts to develop the animation industry in Israel by creating opportunities for independent creators and for studios - including grants, workshops, competitions etc., as well as acting as the Israeli Animation industry's ambassador by holding events at the Cannes film festival, establishing the Israeli stand at MIFA, Annecy and working to strengthen the connections and exposure of local talents in the International Community. Current show-reels screened at Cannes 2018 and at Annecy 2018:
Commissioned projects showreel: https://vimeo.com/284180300 
Independent animation showreel: https://vimeo.com/284179109   
Chairman: Yossi Gavan. Contact: gavan.yossi [at] gmail.com 
Asifa Israel’s logo was designed by Avi Ofer. 

LINKS.
Israeli animation:  https://vimeo.com/channels/israelimation/page:1 

Sample artists’ and studios’ websites:
Ariel Belinco. Yokneam https://belinco.carbonmade.com/ 
Avi Ofer. Barcelona + Tel Aviv  www.aviofer.com 
Daniela Sherer  http://www.danielasherer.com/
Eran Hilleli  http://eranhilleli.com/ 
Gil Alkabetz, Stuttgart. http://www.alkabetz.com/ 
Mind the Gap Animation. JLM + UK http://www.mindthegapanimation.com/#!two-voices/w9eon 
Ori Toor. Tel Aviv. http://oritoor.com/   
PIL Animation. Tel Aviv. www.pilanimation.com  
PitchiPoy studio, Jaffa + Jerusalem. www.pitchipoy.tv 
Sariel Keslasi, Tel Aviv: http://www.sariel-fims.com/#!portfolio/c199t
Shahaf Ram. TLV.  https://vimeo.com/shahafram 
Snowball VFX, Tel Aviv + Jerusalem: http://www.snowballvfx.com/ 
Tal Kantor. Jerusalem.   www.talkantor.com   
Yuval & Merav Nathan – Animation Home http://www.animationhome.net/ 
ZAZ Animation. Bat-Yam. http://zaz-animation.blogspot.co.il/ 

Sample Schools
Minshar for Art, TLV  https://vimeo.com/minshar    
Sapir College, Sderot. Film and animation. https://vimeo.com/user33966170 
Bezalel Academy of Art and Design, JLM.
2013 https://vimeo.com/channels/bezalelanimation2013 
2012  https://vimeo.com/channels/377456  
2011  https://vimeo.com/channels/239437 
2010  https://vimeo.com/channels/15114